What is that graph ?

Very simple animations to understand some pioneer graphs of the solid state physics

Nobel Prize 1913
a metal becomes a superconductor

In 1911, K. Onnes and his team measure electrical resistance in mercury. They discover that at a few degrees from absolute zero, this metal suddenly becomes a superconductor. They have just opened one of the most studied field of research in condensed matter physics.

Nobel Prize 2007
a magnet induces a giant magnetoresistance

In 1988, the teams of A. Fert and P. Grünberg discover that a magnetic field strongly modifies the electrical resistance of thin layers. This giant magnetoresistance allowed the invention of hard drive reading heads and the opened the route to the spintronics.

Nobel Prize 2010
graphene is the thiner metal

In 2004, A. Geim and K. Novoselov
succeed to measure the electrical properties of graphene, a material made of only one layer of atoms. They succeed to control the number of electrons which flow the current and open the route to new electronic devices.

DOWNLOAD VIDEOS AND PDF (with and without legend)

VIDEOS IN FRENCH

Copyright : this project is made available under the Creative Commons License BY-NC-ND
This work is a collaboration between Chloé Passavant from DSAA de Design d'Illustration Scientifique of Ecole Estienne and our group.
(copyright 2013)

C'est quoi cette courbe ?

des animations très simples pour comprendre des courbes pionnières de la physique des solides

Prix Nobel 1913
un métal devient supraconducteur

En 1911, K. Onnes et son équipe mesurent la résistance éléctrique dans du mercure. Ils découvrent qu'à quelques degrés du zéro absolu, ce matériau devient soudain supraconducteur. Ils ouvrent ainsi la voie à un des champs de recherche les plus féconds encore aujourd'hui.

Prix Nobel 2007
un aimant rend une résistance géante

En 1988, les équipes d'A. Fert et de P. Grünberg découvrent qu'un champ magnétique modifie fortement la résistance électrique de couches minces. C'est la magnétorésistance géante qui a permis depuis l'invention des disques durs et a ouvert la voie à une nouvelle recherche, la spintronique.

Prix Nobel 2010
le graphene: le métal le plus mince

En 2004, A. Geim et K. Novoselov
parviennent à mesurer les propriétés électriques du graphène, un matériau composé d'une seule couche d'atomes de carbone. Ils réussissent à contrôler le nombre d'électrons qui y circulent. Ils ouvrent ainsi la voie à de nouveaux composants électroniques.

VERSIONS TELECHARGEABLES (avec ou sans légendes, video et pdf)

VIDEOS IN ENGLISH

Copyright : l'ensemble de ce projet est mis à disposition selon les termes de la licence Creative Commons BY-NC-ND
Ce travail est le fruit d'une collaboration entre Chloé Passavant du DSAA de Design d'Illustration Scientifique de l'école Estienne et notre groupe.
(tous droits réservés 2013)