PhysicsReimagined

Scientific immersion

The principle

We tested twice a new way of teaching experimental physics using an immersion in a fiction scenario. We have proposed to twenty undergraduate science students to live a fiction for 3 days non stop. They had to help a starship exploring a comet at a distance. This new way of teaching has made it possible for students to develop creativity, group management and autonomy, and to enable them to apply their knowledge to actual situations outside the usual lab rooms. We offer you a feedback and how to do it yourself if you are interested.

The immersion in 4 minutes

The story

Due to a problem at the European Space Agency central hub, an emergency procedure is triggered and students, here playing the role of space engineers, must suddenly stop everything and take over communications to help a spaceship at distance. This ship is just landing on a strange and unknown comet he must explore. But this ship has, as a result of technical problems, only very basic basic scientific equipment. The engineers on Earth (the students) have the same equipment: they communicate with the ship to help him explore the comet, suggesting what to make and how to do it after testing it themselves. There follows a succession of short missions to help the ship, and analysis of the data coming back from the ship in real time.

The scenario foresees various evolutions according to what the engineers propose on Earth, until a final with a little surprise!

Pedagogical goals

This immersion aims first at the development of experimental physics skills: use of sensors via smartphones and Arduino boards, creation of experiments from scratch with open solutions, tests, data analysis, production of protocols. It also develops several transversal skills: group work and self-management, work independently with time constraints, creativity and design, communication.

Some students feedbacks

We interviewed the students on different points asking them to give their feelings on a scale from 1 to 7 (anonymous survey conducted among all participants). Here are some of the results.

  • What did you think of immersion? Students highly appreciated the experience (average of 6.6 on a scale of 1 to 7). « I just hope that other groups of students will have the opportunity to live this fabulous experience, » « I loved these 3 days, we start again when ??! « .
  • What did you think about not giving notes? The students favored this lack of note (average 6.5 / 7) despite initial reluctance.
    « It just allows us to focus on the essentials: learning, understanding, solving. We can try and miss without worrying about the consequences, and it works « , » No fear of failure « , » Less stress, more natural, more initiative, more collaboration « , » It has allowed to be more creative and try to do things that may not necessarily work but can. « 
  • What did you think about the fact that teachers never play their own role? Students again praised this choice (average 6.3 / 7). « There is freedom because teachers have roles. It forces us to question ourselves, «  » Frustrating but good. It pushes us to surpass ourselves, to find the info by ourselves « .

Keys for success

  • The fiction: all the elements of « scenery », audio, video, badges, convocations, participate to really create a fictitious universe likely. We believe in it and we play the game thoroughly.
  • A place outside the usual buildings enhances immersion (another building or even cottage in the countryside).
  • Open questions and problems without a single solution leaving students completely free.
  • No ratings: students are not graded, but they are evaluated by several returns during the immersion and at the end. The absence of notes « distresses » students, allows them to create and innovate without fear of failure, and also relaxes some constraints and tensions between students in groups.
  • The teachers never play the role of teachers: again, it shows the students that there is not a « good solution » and that their work is really open.

Would you like to conduct a similar education yourself? Contact us, we will provide you the complete kit (in french, but you can use translate tools) : scenario, documents, videos, audios, list of equipment to provide, and advice.
Contact: julien.bobroff@u-psud.fr

This project was created and taught by Julien Bobroff and Frédéric Bouquet (Paris-South Univ) and Ulysse Delabre and Philippe Barberet (Bordeaux University).

He benefited from the « Innovative Pedagogy » support of IDEX Paris-Saclay. Thanks to the support of Bénédicte Humbert and Franck Brouillard from the Institut Villebon, Patrice Hello from the double Bachelor of Science in Physics at Paris-Sud University, and the valuable advice of Fabrice Jouvenot (CRI), Hervé Dole (Paris Univ. South) and Gilles Lejeune, and the participation of Frédéric Restagno. Thanks to Nathanaël Esnault and Fauzia Sghiouar (UF Physique, Bordeaux) and the FIGURE network (« Initiatives of Excellence in Innovative Training », IDEFI 2011).

Last but not least, we want to thank all the students who participated, from Bordeaux, the Institut Villebon, and the double degree in mathematics and physics from Paris-Sud Paris-Saclay University.

Authors

/

La PhysiqueAutrement

Immersion scientifique

Le principe

Nous avons testé à deux reprises une nouvelle façon d’enseigner la physique expérimentale : l’immersion-fiction. Nous avons proposé à une vingtaine d’étudiants en licence de science de vivre une fiction pendant 3 jours non stop. Ils devaient assister à distance un vaisseau explorant une comète. Cette nouvelle façon d’enseigner a permis de développer chez les étudiants la créativité, la gestion de groupe, l’autonomie, et de leur permettre de confronter leurs connaissances à des situations « réelles » hors des habituelles salles de travaux pratiques. Nous vous proposons un retour d’expérience et de quoi faire vous-même cet enseignement si vous êtes intéressé.

L'immersion en 4 minutes

La fiction proposée

Suite à un problème au centre de l’agence spatiale européenne, une procédure d’urgence est déclenchée et les étudiants, ici des ingénieurs en session « team building », doivent soudain tout arrêter et prendre le relais des communications pour aider un vaisseau spatial à distance. Ce vaisseau est justement en train d’atterrir sur une comète étrange et inconnue qu’il doit l’explorer. Mais ce vaisseau n’a, suite à des problèmes techniques, qu’un équipement scientifique de base très réduit. Les ingénieurs sur Terre (les étudiants) ont le même équipement : ils communiquent avec le vaisseau pour l’aider à explorer la comète, en lui suggérant quoi fabriquer et comment après l’avoir testé eux-même. S’en suivent une succession de missions courtes pour aider le vaisseau, et d’analyse des datas qui reviennent du vaisseau.

 

Le scénario prévoit différentes évolutions selon ce que proposent les ingénieurs sur Terre, jusqu’à un final pour le peu surprenant !

Les objectifs pédagogiques

Cette immersion vise d’abord au développement de compétences en physique expérimentale : usage de capteurs via des smartphones et des cartes Arduino, création d’expériences de zéro, tests, analyse de données, production de protocoles. Elle permet aussi de développer plusieurs compétences transversales : travail en groupe et en auto-gestion, travail en autonomie avec contrainte de temps, créativité et design, communication.

Quelques retours des étudiants

Nous avons interrogé les étudiants sur différents points en leur demandant de donner leur sentiment sur une échelle de 1 à 7 (enquête anonymisée menée auprès de tous les participants).

  • Qu’avez-vous pensé de l’immersion ? Les étudiants ont fortement apprécié l’expérience (moyenne de 6.6 sur une échelle de 1 à 7). « J’espère juste que d’autres groupes d’étudiants auront l’occasion de vivre cette fabuleuse expérience », « J’ai adoré ces 3 jours, on recommence quand ??! ».
  • Qu’avez-vous pensé du fait de ne pas attribuer de notes ? Les étudiants ont plébiscité cette absence de note (moyenne de 6.5/7) malgré des réticences initiales.
    « ça nous permet simplement de nous concentrer sur l’essentiel : apprendre, comprendre, résoudre. On peut essayer et rater sans se soucier des conséquences, et ça marche », « Pas de peur de l’échec », « Moins de stress, plus de naturel, plus de prise d’initiative, plus de collaboration », « Ça a permis d’être plus créatif et tenter de faire des trucs qui peut-être vont pas nécessairement marcher mais peuvent ».
  • Qu’avez-vous pensé du fait que les profs ne jouent jamais leur propre rôle ? Les étudiants ont là encore loué ce choix (moyenne 6.3/7). « Il y a une liberté liée au fait que les profs ont des rôles. Ça nous oblige à se remettre en cause », « Frustrant mais bien. Ça nous pousse à nous dépasser, à trouver l’info par nous mêmes ».

Les clés du succès

  • La fiction : tous les éléments de « décors », audio, vidéo, badges, convocations, participent à vraiment créer un univers fictif vraisemblable. On y croit et on joue donc le jeu à fond.
  • Un lieu hors des bâtiments habituels renforce l’immersion (un autre bâtiment ou même gîte à la campagne).
  • Des questions et problèmes ouverts sans solution unique laissant les étudiants complètement libres.
  • Pas de notes : les étudiants ne sont pas notés, mais par contre ils sont évalués par plusieurs retours au cours de l’immersion et à la fin. L’absence de notes « déstresse » les étudiants, leur permet de créer et d’innover sans peur de l’échec, et permet aussi de relâcher certaines contraintes et crispations entre étudiants dans les groupes.
  • Les profs ne jouent jamais le rôle de profs : là encore, cela montre aux étudiants qu’il n’y a pas une « bonne solution » et que leur travail est vraiment ouvert.

Vous souhaitez vous-même mener un enseignement analogue ? Contactez-nous, nous vous fournirons le kit complet : scénario, documents, vidéos, audios, liste du matériel à prévoir, et conseils.
Contact : julien.bobroff@u-psud.fr

Ce projet a été conçu et enseigné par Julien Bobroff et Frédéric Bouquet (Univ. Paris-Sud) et Ulysse Delabre et Philippe Barberet (Univ. Bordeaux).

 

Il a bénéficié du soutien « Pédagogie Innovante » de l’IDEX Paris-Saclay. Merci au soutien de Bénédicte Humbert et Franck Brouillard de l’Institut Villebon, de Patrice Hello de la double Licence Math-Physique de l’université Paris-Sud, aux conseils précieux de Fabrice Jouvenot (CRI), Hervé Dole (Univ. Paris-Sud) et Gilles Lejeune, et à la participation de Frédéric Restagno. Merci à Nathanaël Esnault et Fauzia Sghiouar (UF Physique, Bordeaux) et au réseau FIGURE (« Initiatives d’excellence en formations innovantes », IDEFI 2011).

Enfin et surtout, merci à la participation de tous les étudiants, de Bordeaux, de l’Institut Villebon, et de la double licence math-physique de l’Université Paris-Sud Paris-Saclay.

Auteurs

/